GIVEAWAY – 1 Month’s Free Subscription to The Coloring Book Club

This is the first of two currently planned giveaways and I’m a little nervous about how it all works so you’ll have to bear with me!

What are you getting? A month’s FREE subscription to the newly founded The Coloring Book Club which is an online subscription service that delivers a free 5+ page pdf colouring book to your email address every week. Because it’s all done online there are no postage costs and best of all, you can print out the images as many times as you like so gone are the heartbreaking days where you mess up a page and can’t redo it. This means that the winner of this giveaway will receive 5 colouring books with a total of 20+ pages that you can colour to your heart’s content!

So, how do you enter? I’m running this giveaway through my Facebook page so head over there via this link and follow the instructions on the pinned post at the top. Don’t forget to follow all 3 instructions otherwise I can’t be sure that you’ll see if you’re the chosen winner. This competition will run until 6pm BST on Saturday the 8th of August. Full terms and conditions are on the competition post itself.

More info – The Coloring Book Club is a cost effective, space-saving way of fuelling your colouring addiction. They supply pages with a range of themes from mandalas, to animals, intricate patterns to nature and many more. What’s more, it’s even better than a magazine subscription because it’s delivered directly to your email address and can be printed as many times as you like onto whatever paper or card you prefer meaning it’s perfect for those of you who like to use alcohol markers that bleed horrendously on normal paper, or those who create works of art with coloured pencils and need a medium with much more tooth. It’s also ideal for those of you who like to colour with your little ones because you can both colour the same design at the same time without having to sacrifice one of your favourite books to their dreaded marker pens!

If you’d like to find out more about them then head over to their website where you’ll find some free sample pages to get you started! Happy Colouring! www.thecoloringbook.club

2 comments

  1. Really great idea running a competition, it must be hard to do with an Anxiety condition. Though this may not be the best place, I feel like I must make my frustration with recent contests clear. I’m unable to enter many of them as everything is done through Facebook.

    Believe it or not, I do not have Facebook.

    While I most likely speak for a minority, or even simply myself I suppose, I find Facebook a breeding place for acerbic comments, moronic statements and outright bullying with no rhyme or reason. It’s an excellent tool for keeping in touch with friends and being notified of community activities, yet most days all I hear is, “So and so said this on Facebook,” followed by a stream of slurs and slander.

    I’d like to think this is a frustration not only shared by myself, but perhaps I’m alone in this sentiment.

    All the best to those who’ve entered!

    Like

    1. Hi,
      I completely understand your frustration and I’m very sorry that this means you can’t enter. I thought, for weeks, about how I could run it so that it would be fair for the largest number of people. Sadly, wordpress doesn’t tell people that I’ve replied to their comments unless they sign up for it to do so which as I’ve seen from the lack of response to my replies, is not often done by people. This means that if I took entries through my blog, most people wouldn’t ever find out they’d won and it would involve me doing a lot of chasing up which is effort and energy that I simply don’t have. Running a competition is, as you said, difficult to do with my conditions and it took me ages to bit the bullet and publish the post because I was worried things would go wrong. I wanted to make sure it was fair and therefore thought that entries would all need to be in one place which I’d have loved to be on my blog itself but because of the reasons explained above I couldn’t do that fairly. Also, doing it through Facebook means that I get extra advertising for my blog because when people comment on the post, it pops up on their friend’s news feeds and the message spreads which is what I need to grow my blog and therefore be able to persuade more publishers to send me books to review. I also have the problem that on my blog I only get an email address so I have no name to announce unless the person tells me. If you won for example, I don’t have a full name to be able to announce and therefore I’d be likely to be accused of cheating or fixing results etc. This obviously isn’t the best way of doing it but it’s the best way I’ve come up with so far and is in line with how other blogs conduct their competitions.

      I completely understand your reasons for not having Facebook, it can certainly be used for very negative purposes and is often not conducive to good mental health however it’s such a widely used social network that it seemed silly to not utilise its benefits for this competition. I will try to come up with a better solution in future as I do have more giveaways planned and don’t want to unnecessarily discriminate but there will always be stipulations meaning some people can’t enter. I have to foot the postage bill for example when sending out free books so I will have to restrict entries to just UK residents because I can’t afford postage abroad. It’s not fair on people who live outside the UK but also not fair on me to be out of pocket when I currently receive no financial gain from putting hours into these reviews.

      If you have any other suggestions of how I could run it then please let me know because this is not ideal but I couldn’t come up with a better solution. I would need to know the person’s name, a way of contacting them online and they would need to be automatically made aware that they had won rather than me having to chase them. Most people who read my blog aren’t “followers” so they wouldn’t even get an email about a new blog post announcing it hence doing it through facebook where I’ve made it clear that it’s up to that person to contact me, not the other way around.
      I hope that makes sense and that you understand why I’ve done it this way after a lot of thought. If you have any suggestions I would welcome them! The other thing you could to though is to create a facebook account solely for the use of entering competitions if this is becoming a problem. You wouldn’t have to add people or read anything negative but would still be notified if you’d won anything you’d entered. Just a thought! 🙂 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

